VIU Interior Design Showcase 2023

Together we are stronger, our voices louder, and the synergy of our actions more powerful.
-Pierce Brosnan


We acknowledge and thank the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’Amin, on whose traditional lands we study, design, and work.


In celebration of our students’ achievements, Dr. Michael Quinn (Provost and Vice-President Academic), Dr. Marni Stanley (Dean of Arts and Humanities), Jay Arvind (Head of Interior Design a the Westbank Corp. and Guest Speaker), and Graeme Verhulst (Principal Architect AIBC and Guest Speaker) delivered their messages to the students during the Showcase 2023. We are all so proud of our students and their accomplishments. Congratulations to the VIU Interior Design students! Congratulation to the Class of 2023!

Dr. Michael Quinn

(Provost and Vice-President Academic)

Dr. Marni Stanley

(Dean of Arts and Humanities)

Jay Arvind

(Head of Interior Design a the Westbank Corp.)

Graeme Verhulst

(Principal Architect AIBC at the Waymark)


The annual showcase is an important event for the students of the Interior Design program and would not be possible each year without the generous donations and support from local sponsors and the support of the interior design community. This year we would like to thank the following supporters for their generosity:

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Guest Speakers

Jay Arvind

Interior Designer/ Project Manager

Westbank Corporation

Jay is the Head of the Interior Design department at the Westbank Corp. Established 30 years ago, Westbank is a private development company that partners with likeminded global organizations to become ever more impactful. As a global leader in net zero development and the co-owner of one of North America’s largest district energy providers, Westbank is committed to large-scale net zero carbon initiatives.

(604) 685-8986 (General Inquiries)

Graeme Verhulst

Principal Architect AIBC

Waymark Achitecture

Graeme is a founding principal of Waymark Architecture and a keen advocate for advanced building science. He is one of the first architects in BC trained to design to the stringent International Passive House Standard, the world’s leading approach to energy in buildings. Graeme is also past chair of the Vancouver Island Chapter of the AIBC and sits on the Township of Esquimalt’s Design Review Committee.

(888) 206-0123


Interior Design Student Association Members:

  • Meara Spiers (President; 4th-year member)
  • Brynne Nadon (Vice-President; 4th-year member)
  • Kimberley D’Cruz (Treasurer; 4th-year member)
  • Kaitlyn Soares (Secretary; 4th-year member)
  • Emma Benneyworth (1st-year member)
  • Megan Morris (1st-year member)
  • Naveet Brar (1st-year member)
  • Britteny Richard (2nd-year member)
  • Spencer Frey (2nd-year member)
  • Zerai Vaughan (3rd-year member)
  • Johanna Slater (3rd-year member)

Graduating Students:

  • Ivander Arthur
  • Brooklyn Burritt
  • Mhairi Carlyle
  • Fabienne Dobler
  • Julia Fehr
  • Paige Hilder
  • Violet Neustaedter
  • Heather Roberts
  • Theresa Scully
  • Hamza Soogun
  • Sydney Stannard
  • Ryan Ta
  • Zerai Vaughan
  • Sydney Wilmot

Faculty Members:

  • Marni Stanley (Dean)
  • Kenneth Chooi
  • Katarina Litva
  • Penny Thibault
  • Tamara Timbers
  • Cimarron Knight
  • Evandra Panych

The Bachelor of Interior Design program at VIU is an exciting program that delves into the complex world of the built interior environment. For more information, please visit VIU Interior Design.